Travel in India

Karnataka’s First luxury Train- The Golden Chariot

Departure Schedule of The Golden Chariot- 2014 & 2015 updated in the Blog.

TripOrTrap- The Official Blog

Image The Golden Chariot – The Pride of the South India Rail journey

Royalty, Heritage, treasure of archaeology and cultural ethos manifest into one luxury train, which has been named after Stone Chariot in the Vitthala Temple at Hampi( A world heritage site); We are referring to India’s first disabled-friendly luxury train- The Golden chariot.

Image Exterior view of The Golden Chariot
(Pic Courtesy:

The train has got inspirations from India’s original luxury train ”Palace on wheels” with greater detailing on comforts of the travellers. With 44 guest cabins, two multi-cuisine restaurants, on-site lounge bar, conference car, Spa, gymnasium- Karnataka’s luxury train, The Golden Chariot vies with its illustrious counterparts in India and abroad.

Travel like royalty! Pic Credit: Official Facebook Page Travel like royalty!
Pic Credit: Official Facebook Page

It has been awarded the title of “Asia’s Leading Luxury Train” at World Travel Awards, 2013 and Owing to its world class facilities; Golden Chariot has earned the recognition as one of the…

View original post 493 more words

Travel in India

Waiver of Inner Line Permit to explore Leh for Indian Nationals


Shanti Stupa at Changspa
(Image: flickr/kkoshy)

Earlier Scenario:

Any Indian National, who wanted to explore the fascinating beauty of Leh and parts of it, had to take permission for Inner Line Permit from Office of District Magistrate,Leh. Tourist who wanted to visit places like Nubra Valley, Pangong Tso, Tso Moriri had to visit the office on a working day along with photographs and other documents. This has caused a lot of hours surfing sites for clarification and In order for due to border sensitive areas in Ladakh, which are located along the ceasefire line with Pakistan (LOC) and China (LAC), an inner line permit issued by the DC Office in Leh was necessary for the protection of the Indian Nationals.

Changed Scenario:

Latest orders passed by DC office of Leh (Orders copy), Indian nationals no longer need permit to visit areas mentioned in Orders copy. Government issued ID cards eg. Indian Passport, Driving License, Election ID card, PAN card, Aadhar card etc. will be checked and treated as inner line permit for following areas:-

  • Dah and Hanu (Khaltse – Domkhar – Skurbuchan – Hanudo – Biama – Dha route.)
  • Pangong Tso (from Leh to Merak Village.)
  • Tso Moriri (Leh – Chumathang – Mahe – Korzok.)
  • Loma Bend (Leh – Chumathang – Mahe – Nyoma – Loma Bend.)
  • Nubra Valley (Khardung La, Diskit, Hunder, Turtuk, Pachathang, Tyakshi, Sumur and Panamik.)
  • Tangyar (Leh – Sabhoo – Digger La – Khungru Gompa – Tangyar, only for trekking.)

The foreign nationals shall, however, need to obtain a proper permit from the office of  District Magistrate, Leh on a working day. However, to visit places like Hanle, Chusul, Tsaga, beyond Loma bend, Chumur, Marsimik La, Batalik sectors, Indian Nationals too require permit.


Happy Travelling!